The day

I am healthy. In fact, I’m better than that. I almost fit – even fit as a fiddle. I don’t know how often I take the time to be thankful for that.

Today’s prompt comes from an email sent by a friend concerning a mutual friend of ours. “… has been diagnosed with cancer” was what was in there. Our friend. My younger friend. A lovely woman who brought smiles to all those around her. A woman with an infectious laugh and perpetual delight in the world around her.

Has been diagnosed with cancer.

How frightening, how scary, how terrifying. We all know we are mortal, but we don’t really ever expect to find the limits of our mortality. Or perhaps it is just me. I intend to live forever – so far, so good.

I hope that the joy my friend brought to world will have been recognized and Karma will return the joy to her and her family.

I suppose this should be some moral tale about the fragility of life and the uncertainty of our tomorrows. But instead of urging any readers to go all carpe diem or YOLO or whatever, what I really want to do is sit down and just cry.

I understand the need to live authentically in the moment and there are some days when it is more apparent than others. Mostly, even though I know it isn’t possible, I want life to be easy. I want each and every person to have health and happiness, fulfillment and purpose, joy and love. I know there is untold suffering in the world. I just wish it wasn’t so.

I wish my dear friend the best possible outcome for her treatment. I am content in knowing that she lives in a region with great medical facilities and has a family to wrap her in love and provide safety and comfort.

To you, my friends, may you find peace and comfort in this new year. My prayers, my heart, my love, and my bestest wishes go to you.

Always, your neighbor.

Leave a Reply

